2014 Governor's Historic Preservation Awards
Eleven nominees were selected by an independent jury, and approved by the Governor, to receive Governor's Historic Preservation awards for 2014. The awardees included projects and organizations from throughout the state and highlighted grass roots, community-based endeavors as well as larger, multi-agency efforts.
Below is a list of the 2014 award recipients. Congratulations and thank you for your exceptional work on behalf of preserving California's heritage!
2014 Award Recipients
CyArk is a non-profit organization with the mission to leverage cutting-edge technology to digitally preserve and share the world’s cultural heritage. Using non-invasive techniques, CyArk captures digital records of heritage sites that are accurate down to millimeters. Since their founding in 2003, CyArk has added over 120 heritage sites to their free online archive. Besides its global activities, CyArk has established strong partnerships with sites and public and private organizations throughout California. Their extensive work in the state includes among others the John Muir National Historic Site, Manzanar War Relocation Center, a vernacular cabin at Henry W. Coe State Park, and California Missions Carmel, San Juan Bautista, Sonoma, San Luis Rey, and Dolores.
The San Diego Archaeological Center is at the forefront of preserving and supporting archaeological collections that are tangible links to the region’s cultural and historical identity. The Center was purpose-built to effectively preserve, manage, and use archaeological collections and is considered a model institution at the local, state, and national levels. It meets federal and state regulation requirements and meets and exceeds NAGPRA repatriation standards. In the past fifteen years the Center welcomed more than 40,000 visitors, delivered workshops and lectures, hosted exhibits and special events, partnered with more than fifteen organizations to conduct archaeological research, and provided educational programs for K-12 and college students.
Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation Cultural Resources Committee (CRC) is the Tribe’s governing body overseeing the preservation of cultural sites and resources. Preservation and understanding the culture and language of their ancestors is at the core of Yocha Dehe Wintun values. In addition to site protection, the CRC oversees the rebuilding and revitalizing of the Patwin language. They are developing a history program and have created the largest Patwin archival document and photograph collection. The CRC has promoted the revitalization of other California Indian languages through the sponsorship of the Living Language Circle Conference, which brings together Native American language teachers throughout California to share knowledge and experiences.
The Lemon Grove History Mural is a community project of the Lemon Grove Historical Society, involving the creation of a 65-foot wide by 18-foot high, five panel mural depicting the history of the Lemon Grove community. The mural is the city’s first public art installation, and conveys a strong sense of place and history. Local artists, businesses, and individual citizens all came together to make the project a success. Major supporters included among others, the Barona Band of the Kumeyaay Nation, Luiseno Band. The Lemon Grove History Mural has become a destination point for school groups and public tours; it is a tangible example of grass roots efforts to preserve and interpret a community’s past.
The Wright Time: A History of the Pilgrim Congregational Church is a film project dedicated to preserving, on video, the story of the construction of the Pilgrim Congregational Church, Redding, California, in the early 1960s. Designed by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright, the church was built by the men, women, and children of the congregation. While the actual church building itself is historically significant, the focus of the film project was to preserve the human stories and history associated with the building’s creation and the process of turning Wright’s design into tangible form. A captivating blend of historic film footage, photographs, and oral history interviews, the film is available to scholars, researchers, and the public through local libraries and colleges, the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, and soon will be available online as well.
The Mount Diablo Beacon, in Mount Diablo State Park, is one of the last remaining working beacons from the transcontinental string of guides that were installed in the 1920s to assist with commercial aviation. First lit in 1928, the Beacon shined every night until December 8, 1941, when it was shut off following the attack on Pearl Harbor. The Beacon remained off until 1964 when Admiral Chester Nimitz suggested it be lit every December 7 in memory of those who served and sacrificed at Pearl Harbor. Over the years, however, the Beacon fell into disrepair. The non-profit Save Mount Diablo assembled a team of experts to develop a plan for accurately restoring the historic light. With the help of dedicated volunteers, businesses, and the community, including veterans of Pearl Harbor and their families, the restored Mount Diablo Beacon will shine once more every 7th of December.
Captain Fletcher’s Inn, in Navarro River Redwoods State Park, was built in 1865 by Captain Charles Fletcher, a Scottish seaman who settled in the area. The Inn is one of only two surviving structures of the original town of Navarro. By the 1920s, the Inn was a popular roadside destination known as Navarro-by-the-Sea, one of the longest running inns on the North Coast. The Inn closed in the 1980s, and by 2010 was in disrepair to the point of collapse. The non-profit Navarro-by-the-Sea-Center (NSCR), California State Parks, and a team of architects and other professionals worked diligently to restore the Inn and successfully preserve its historic character and significance. Captain Fletcher’s Inn is destined to become an interpretive visitor center for Navarro River Redwoods State Park.
Atascadero City Hall was originally constructed in 1918 to be the centerpiece of the utopian Atascadero Colony, the first master planned community in California. On December 22, 2003, the landmark building suffered severe damage from the San Simeon earthquake. City officials, the restoration project team, and the community dedicated themselves to repairing and restoring this historic symbol of the city. Years of inappropriate alterations were removed, allowing original features to be restored, including among others, rotunda overlooks, and architectural design motifs. With carefully located portals that allow visitors to see the original structure and enhanced reinforcement, and two rooms restored back to their 1918 appearance, the building serves as both a center of civic activity and an educational space for highlighting the community’s rich heritage.
The MA Center LA Building, designed in 1948 in the Streamline Moderne style by architect George Morlan, is an excellent example of its style and is beloved by the local beach community. The building housed the Fraternal Order of Eagles AERIE 935 since its initial construction. In 2012, the Order sold the aging building to the MA Center, who embraced the building’s architectural significance. They hired historic preservation experts to restore the building’s historical and architectural integrity, while meeting programmatic and city safety code requirements. Long-missing Streamline Moderne elements were restored, including window bands and smooth stucco exterior. The MA Center LA continues the building’s tradition of public service, offering educational and community programs to local residents and the greater Los Angeles area.
San Francisco’s Hallidie Building, designed by Willis Polk and commissioned by the University of California Berkeley, is extraordinary for its unique front: its glass façade is generally recognized as a forerunner of contemporary and ubiquitous curtain wall systems. Completed in 1918, the Hallidie Building was Polk’s last major work before his death. The restoration project’s focus was to restore the integrity of the iconic façade through repair of the curtain wall and decorative features. Project efforts included, among others: removal of historic materials in a way that would minimize damage; extensive color analysis to determine the original blue and gold colors of the façade; and cataloging of all features repaired or replaced. The Hallidie Building embodies fundamental architectural elements that make the modern city livable in design and form.
140 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, was designed by noted Art Deco architect Timothy Pflueger in 1925. At the time of its construction it was one of the tallest skyscrapers on the West Coast. Originally home to the Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Company, this 26-story terra cotta and granite building includes a richly detailed façade and dramatic lobby. The rehabilitation project seismically retrofitted the building, and upgraded it as a state-of-the-art office building, while preserving its historic character and key spaces. The ornate lobby is the hallmark of the building and was retained in its entirety and carefully restored as were elevator lobbies, the plaster ceiling, marble walls, and floors. 140 New Montgomery Street has regained its status as an iconic home for some of the region’s most forward-looking companies.